Adult Contemporary

Bryan Adams, Gloria Estefan, Steve Winwood among nominees for induction into Songwriters Hall of Fame

M Bryanadams630 Creditbryanadams 120921 1
Bryan Adams

The nominees for induction into the Songwriters Hall of Fame next year have been announced and some of the biggest names in music are among them.

Gloria Estefan; Bryan AdamsSade Adu, frontwoman and songwriter for the band SadeAnn and Nancy Wilson of HeartPatrick Simmons and Michael McDonald of The Doobie Brothers; and Steve Winwood and Tom Johnston are among this year’s nominees.

Other acts in the running include punk godmother and poet Patti Smith; all four members of R.E.M.Jeff Lynne of ELODebbie Harry; Clem Burke and Chris Stein of BlondieSnoop Dogg; and country star and Eagles member Vince Gill.

Among the nonperforming songwriters who are nominated for induction are Glen Ballard, probably best known for co-writing and producing Alanis Morissette‘s Jagged Little Pill; Dean Pitchford, who co-wrote “Footloose,” “Fame,” “Let’s Hear It for the Boy” and “Holding Out for a Hero”; and Liz Rose, who co-wrote many of Taylor Swift‘s early hits, including “Teardrops on My Guitar,” “You Belong with Me” and “All Too Well.”

The eventual inductees will be honored at a gala in New York City on June 15, 2023.

Copyright © 2022, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.